The five stages of grading-grief

Here’s a great post reflecting on the five stages of grading: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, resignation. If those sound a lot like the five stages of grief, it’s because there are close parallels between grading and grief.

My favorite:

Denial.  At this stage, the instructor is unwilling to acknowledge the size of the task ahead of him or her. An instructor in denial may be heard to say things like, “It’s not really that many essays, when you think about it.” An instructor in denial will grossly overestimate his or her potential assignment-per-hour output. Denial at the syllabus-creation stage of course development can lead to tears. Denial can also manifest itself as avoidance, where grading is put aside in favour of vastly more important activities like cleaning the fridge, baking, working out, or writing elaborate blog posts about the stages of grading.

Read the rest here.



2 Responses to “The five stages of grading-grief”

  1. mypurplehoneyjar November 5, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    A colleague of mine recently gave me this to read, it’s very acurate, it’s up on our office now too.


  1. Four Perspectives | Perspectives - December 10, 2010

    [...] The five stages of grading-grief ( Tagged with: Business • Death • Democratic • Grief • Kübler-Ross model • Politics • Progressive • United States  If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it! blog comments powered by Disqus /* [...]

Leave a Reply:

Gravatar Image